Banner

 

Director’s welcome...

I welcome this opportunity to introduce you to the faculty members who are affiliated with the University of Pittsburgh's Center for Industry Studies.

The Center for Industry Studies was established in 2001 to support research that is based on a deep understanding of firms and the markets in which they compete. Research supported by the Center focuses on the practical experience of industry and requires extensive field research. In this way, the Center encourages communication between business firms and academic research as a means of building partnerships that yield educational opportunities and promote economic development.

While the Center is housed in the Department of Economics, its scope is multidisciplinary. We welcome your inquiries.

 

 

Frank Giarratani

Frank Giarratani
Director

Center for Industry Studies
Department of Economics
University of Pittsburgh
frankg@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1741

 

Center Affiliated Faculty

 

Richard Fruehan
U.S. Steel Professor and Co-Director
Center For Iron and Steelmaking Research
Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Carnegie Mellon University
fruehan@andrew.cmu.edu
(412) 268-2677

 
 

 

 
 

Shanti Gamper-Rabindran
Assistant Professor
Graduate School of Public and International Affairs
University of Pittsburgh
shanti1@pitt.edu
412-648-8266

 
 

 

 
 

Gene Gruver
Professor of Economics
Department of Economics
University of Pittsburgh
gruver@pitt.edu
(412) 648-1731

 
 

 

 
 

Randall Jackson
Professor of Geography and Director
Regional Research Institute
West Virginia University
rjw2@pitt.edu
(304) 293-8734

 
 

 

 
 

Ravi Madhavan
Associate Professor of Business Administration
Joseph M. Katz Graduate School of Business
University of Pittsburgh
rmadhavan@katz.pitt.edu
(412) 648-1530

 
 

 

 
 

John Mendeloff
Professor
Graduate School of Public and International Affairs
University of Pittsburgh
jmen@pitt.edu
(412) 648-2651

 
 

 

 
 

John Prescott
Thomas H. O'Brian Professor of Strategy
Joseph M. Katz Graduate School of Business
University of Pittsburgh
prescott@katz.pitt.edu
(412) 648-1797

 
 

 

 
 

Thomas Rawski
Professor of Economics and History
Department of Economics
University of Pittsburgh
tgrawski@pitt.edu
(412) 648-7062

 
 

 

 
 

Martin Staniland
Professor of Public and International Affairs
Graduate School of Public and International Affairs
University of Pittsburgh
mstan@pitt.edu
(412) 648-7656

 
 

 

 
 

Rick Tannery
Associate Professor of Economics
School of Business
Slippery Rock University
frederick.tannery@sru.edu
(412) 648-1797

 
 

 

 
 

Carey Durkin Treado
Visiting Assistant Professor
Graduate School of Public and International Affairs
University of Pittsburgh
ctreado@pitt.edu
(412) 624-2966

 
 

 

 

Pitt home Center for Industry Studies Home Site index Visitor feedback Contact Us

Affiliated Faculty  |  Research  |  Publications  |  Steel Plant Database  |  Mission & History  |  Industry Studies

Pitt Home  |  Center for Industry Studies Home  |  Site Index  |  Visitor Feedback  |  Contact Us

 

Last updated 08 April 2005